The Obafemi Awolowo College of Health Sciences (OACHS) formally informed the University of the Proposal to establish a Pharmacy Programme as a Faculty in OACHS by the Advisory Council on 29th May, 1991. This was not only in response to national, state and local needs for an improvement in health care delivery services at all levels, but also with the desire to give more opportunities of choice of admission to candidates of Ogun State Origin.

On Tuesday, 9th July, the proposal for the establishment of a Faculty of Pharmacy in OACHS was considered and ratified by members of the University Academic Planning Committee.

The Building, Works and Estate Committee of the University also considered the architectural proposal of the Faculty of Pharmacy Building Plan on 11th July, 1991 before the final approval by the University Council.

With the approval from the University Council at its meeting of 26th October, 1991, the OACHS Advisory Council arranged for a Foundation Laying Ceremony and Launching of Twenty Million Naira (N20,000,000.00) for the Faculty of Pharmacy Programme on Wednesday 29th January 1992. The ceremony was declared open by the executive Governor of Ogun State, Chief Segun Osoba under the Chairmanship of Dr. Michael Omolayole, Pro- Chancellor and Chairman of Council, Ogun State University.

The total amount donated during the launching by a number of well meaning individuals, corporate bodies and establishments, in support of the proposed Faculty Building Programme was N801,200.00 (Eight Hundred and One Thousand, Two Hundred Naira Only). The historical brief on the establishment of the Faculty of Pharmacy in Obafemi Awolowo College of Health Sciences, is incomplete without the inclusion of the enthusiastic, energetic and original sponsors. Mr. J. O. Paul of Paul and Paul Chemists Ltd., and Mr. J. O. Adeniji (Tabade Pharmaceutical Chemist), Mr. T. O. Ogunbanjo (Life Care Chemist), Mr. Bode Ladejobi, (Ladejobi Products Ltd) and Pfizer Products Plc.

The operation of the academic and clinical services of the Faculty is particularly unique for two reasons. Firstly, Olabisi Onabanjo University is the first School of Pharmacy in Nigeria to be conceived, planned and established by Pharmacists themselves.

Secondly, both academic and practicing Pharmacist’s services are within the reach of our students.

While the OACHS Advisory Council’s Committee had set up the machinery for the commencement of the building programme, the first batch (17) of Pharmacy students (100 level) was registered on April 9, 1993. But only 11 who satisfied the examiners together with 10 transfer students received their first 200 Level (professional) lectures in Sagamu on April 3rd 1995, realizing the first ray of a vision. Initially the Pharmacy programme was being co- ordinated by Dr. F. O. Oladeinde who was then on sabbatical leave with Ogun State University and later a Foundation Dean in person of Professor (Mrs.)
M. N. Femi-Oyewo was appointed.

The Faculty of Pharmacy is currently being housed in Oba Micheal Adeniyi Sonariwo Pharmacy Complex and the newly completed Yeye Olufunke Daniel Pharmacy Complex.

In appreciation of the invaluable services of all those who at various times, contributed to the growth and development of this Faculty, the University deemed it fit to dedicate our major laboratories accordingly.

1. Adeola Ogunbanjo Clinical Pharmacy Laboratory

2. Paul and Paul Pharmaceutical Dispensing Laboratory

3. Tabade Pharmaceutical Chemistry Laboratory

4. Bentos Pharmaceutical Technology Laboratory

5. Friends of OACHS Laboratory

6. Bode Ladejobi Pharmacognosy Laboratory

7. Pfizer Products Plc Instrument Room

8. Litramed Publication Drug Information Unit/Seminar Room

The Faculty of Pharmacy was given two years initial accreditation by the Pharmacists Council of Nigeria (PCN) in May 2000. The Faculty later became autonomous in April 2002. However in May 2005, the faculty was given a full Accreditation status by PCN. The Faculty which was initially denied Accreditation by the NUC in 1999, was given Interim Accreditation by NUC in 2003. The Faculty has produced twelve sets of Pharmacists totaling Six Hundred and Eighty-two (682) graduates of two hundred and thirty-two graduates from the first six sets.

Currently the Faculty is on the verge of achieving full production in her Research and Production Unit as the physical infrastructure, major equipment and instruments are all in place.

The realization of this goal is in line with the philosophy guiding the Pharmacy Faculty.

It is our hope that with the establishment of Pharmacy Programme, Faculty of Pharmacy would distinguish itself not only by its immutable dedication to excellence in health for all but also by a profound dedication to discovering community educational needs and meeting them.