The Department of Mathematical sciences in Ogun State University was founded from inception in 1982. It has the responsibility for the needs, training and services in Mathematics, Statistics and computer science.

The Mathematics and Statistics programmes were the first to start. Other programmes commenced at a later date, these include Computer Science and a combination of Mathematics with Computer Science and Statistics.

In 1985, the Computer science was added to the programmes as a five year programme – four years of instructions and one year of industrial attachment. With the start of Computer Science came five options which are combination of Computer Science with each of Mathematics, Statistics, Economics, Business Administration, Accounting and Statistics.

A one year in Data Processing was also started in 1986 to meet the middle level manpower needs of Computer installations in Industry and Government.

The Department had so far offered degrees in Mathematics, Computer Science and combined Honours in Computer science with Mathematics, Statistics, Accounting, Economics, Business Administration and single Honours in Statistics.

In 1995, Diploma in Data Processing (DDP) was extended to involve part-time students and also introduced is a one year Diploma in Computer Studies (DCS) meant for professionals in the Computer industry.

Currently, the Combined Honours degree programmes are gradually being phased out and replaced with single Honours Programmes in Mathematics, Statistics and Computer Science.


(a) Student intending to read for any of the five degrees offered in the department must satisfy the University and Faculty requirements.

(b) A student who has passed Mathematics at the ‘A’ level of a recognized G.C.E or equivalent may be considered for exemption in all or some of the first year Mathematics courses.