The Obafemi Awolowo College of Health Sciences (OACHS) of Olabisi Onabanjo University admitted its first set of students in January 1983 amongst which are the pre-clinical students. The pre-clinical departments which include physiology was initially sited at Ikenne and were established and housed at the Community High School, Ikenne. When the military administration took over power in December 1983, the Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences (FBMS) was moved to Ago-Iwoye following the directive of Ogun state military Government. However, the idea and principles of a multi-campus system conceived by the University’s founding fathers became fruitful in May 2002 and thus the department was relocated to Ikenne campus along side its Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences.

The Department of Physiology is presently housed in a block of offices donated by Chief Mrs. M.T. Owolana and family. The building which is beside the FBMS office in Ikenne campus served as the general office, head of department office and also accommodate lecturers technologists and other staff of the department.

The animal house under construction is located far behind the office block while the physiology laboratory is being built on a piece of land between the office block and the animal house. However, a temporary physiology laboratory is situated as an adjunct of Biochemistry laboratory in the Biochemistry department.