Urban and Regional Planning is future, environmental and people orientated. It entails the planning of the environment for the benefits of human habitation. The B.Sc. degree in urban and regional planning aim at providing specialized training to students so as to equip them with appropriate tools with which to plan for the satisfaction of the socio-economic and socio-cultural needs of the society through judicious proposal for the utilization of the physical environment. The contents and the design of the courses have been structured to provide theoretical and practical instructions in physical planning and design skills in line with the guidelines of the Town Planning Registration Council (TOPREC) of Nigeria and the National Universities Commission (NUC).
The specific objectives of the programme include:

• To educate students in the fundamental concepts, theories, issues and methods associated with physical development at local and international levels.

• To introduce students to planning, policy analysis and public management concepts and skills as they pertain to physical development and the environment.

• To develop students in methodological basis for analyzing and understanding planning and policy problems and issue; and

• To groom the students to acquire strong theoretical, design and analytical skills for the formulation of policies and plans.


Urban and Regional Planning was created as one of the three pioneer academic departments when the then Faculty of Environmental Technology was created in the 2003/2004 academic session. The later being one of the two Faculties in then College of Engineering and Technology. The other Faculty in the College was the Faculty of Engineering. Urban and regional planning took off as a Department in the then Faculty of Environmental Technology at Ibogun, a satellite campus of the Olabisi Onabanjo University.

The Department was restructured as a Programme in the Department of Architecture and Environmental studies, College of Engineering and Environmental Studies in 2009/2010 academic session.
The programme commenced with an intake of 29 freshmen; and three academic staff. Mr. K. S. Ewedairo was appointed as the Programme Coordinator and the others are Messrs. S. O. Momodu and B. O. Odufuwa. The staff strength was increased during the 2005/2006 session with the employment of Messrs M. A. Alabi and S. U. Okotie – a Senior Lecturer from the Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria on sabbatical (now contract). Prof. S. B. Agbola from the University of Ibadan joined to serve as Visiting Professor on sabbatical and Dr. Leke Oduwaye also as Visiting Senior Lecturer from University of Lagos during the 2006/2007 academic session.

The major asset of the programme has been the control of number of students’ enrollments. The then Department of Urban and Regional Planning graduated 19 students in 2007/ 2008 session. The student’s population as at 2012/2013 session is 78. With this manageable student’s population and modest facilities, the programme is set to compete favourably with existing urban and planning programmes in Nigeria.
The diverse background of the lecturers is a testimony of the strength of the programme, as staff background ranges from the social science, geography, economics, transport and architecture.

It is noteworthy to state that the programme recently obtained the National Universities Commission Full Accreditation (2007-2012) status.


The duration of the programme ranges between minimum of six (6) semesters and maximum of fifteen (15) semesters. The normal length of the programme is five years (10 semesters) for UTME candidates, four years (8 semesters) for Directly Entry and three years (6 semesters) for HND candidates. For the first year, students will offer the compulsory University and College/Faculty courses while the remaining four years will be for their training in achieving the main goals of the profession.


A student must register for a minimum of 12 credits units per semester and up to a maximum of 26 credit units. Students on industrial attachment (second semester of 400 Level) are however exempted and are required to take a minimum of 6 units respectively.


To qualify for the award of the B.Sc. (Honour) degree in Urban and Regional Planning, UTME students must have completed and passed a minimum of 180 credits units, satisfied both internal and external examiners in the written and practical projects seminars and oral examination as may be prescribed from time to time in the programme.

Direct Entry students must have completed and passed a minimum of 150 credits units, satisfied both internal and external examiners in the written and practical projects seminars and oral examination as may be prescribed from time to time in the programme.